Finally! Plans for my future

My future has been one of my biggest fears for a very long time. It took me a lot of time to convince myself that even I am capable of having a fun and successul future, even though it might not feel like that right now. Well, a few days ago I sat down with my mum and we talked a lot about my future and also did some research on the internet. I’m really glad we did that.

When I was younger, I wanted to be become a veterinarian. When I got past that phase, I wanted to become an oncologist. But the past few years I found out that, even though those jobs might be really interesting, they’re just not suited for me. For two years I was too afraid to think about my future, because I litteraly had no idea what I wanted to study, where I wanted to live and what I wanted to do with my life.

Like I said, after my mum and I brainstormed for a little while (actually, we brainstormed for a few days), I finally found my ‘destiny’. Maybe that sounds a little dramatic, but it really felt like that. I’m going to tell you my plans, but please note: they’re just plans and there could always happen something along the way that could make me change my mind.

Future 2

When I finish highchool (if everything goes according to plan, this will be in 2018), I want to go to ‘The Hotelschool The Hague’. I’m not going to explain everything about this study, because it would take me way too much time, but you can check out their website if you want. Click here. It’s a 4-year international study (bachelor) and it trains you in managing, socializing and it prepares you for jobs such as being the manager of a hotel or any big international company. You could also start your own business of course!

During the first year of this bachelor, I will be staying at the ‘Skotel’, which is a hotel for all of the first-year students. I’ll be sharing a pretty fancy hotelroom with 1 other student. Pretty cool, right? The study contains two five month internships in other countries, such as Canada, France or Germany. I love to travel and I want to see so much of the world, so I absolutely love this.

Anyways, when I finish my first year at The Hotelschool, it’s just 3 more years until I get my diploma. I will no longer be staying at the ‘Skotel’ after the first year, and I will probably move to an apartment somewhere close to campus. I really want to live on my own and I’m already looking forward to it!

World4free.in

With that diploma, I can do A LOT of things. I’ve always dreamed of owning a hotel or a bed & breakfast or just a cute coffee house or something like that. I’m not sure which one of those things I am going to choose, but I still have plenty of time to decide!

Those are pretty much my plans for my future! I keep calling it my ‘future’, but it’s not even that far away. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll be staying at the ‘Skotel’ in august 2018. That’s just 1.5 years from now! Pretty crazy…

I also have a small back-up plan: If I don’t make it through the selection for The Hotelschool in 2018, I will find some jobs (yes, multiple jobs) and earn money until I can try again in January 2019 (they start this study twice a year).

What are your future plans? I’d love to hear them!

– Hayet

Leave a Reply

